Ducks Unlimited Member Forums

2 Weeks of Professional Training for my Lab?

Posted 10/17/2013 11:35:29 AM

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 11/5/2013 9:59:24 PM
Hey all,

I am new to DU, and soaking up all of the information that I can!

I have a 14 month old chocolate lab that I really want to duck hunt with. She fetches well, swims well, and overall is a very well mannered dog. I have absolutely no complaints as a dog owner.

However...

When it comes to hunting, she struggles. I have had her out duck hunting twice, and it is just too much for her. She can't sit still, the duck calls make her all giddy and excited, she wants to grab the decoys, and she whines with frustration while I hold her leash. Basically she ruins the hunt...both because I am focused on trying to get her under control and because ducks won't come close with her antics.

I want to enjoy hunting with my dog - she is a fantastic dog and a loyal friend - I love her to death. I really, really want to be able to enjoy hunting together and obviously it would make getting the birds I kill a lot easier.

My question is this...

I am strapped for cash, but I can afford to have her go to a professional gun dog trainer for two weeks. He has been doing it 30 years, has champion dogs, is retired and trains them 24/7, blah blah blah. Seems like a good guy and a good place.

Is 2 weeks going to be enough to make a different? I know that ideally she needs much more training, but I can't afford it right now. Will 2 weeks get enough done with her to at least bring her hunting while I save to take her back for additional training?

Any information would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks guys!
Post #774355
Add to Twitter Add to Facebook
 Posted 10/17/2013 12:21:07 PM

Last Login: Yesterday @ 7:45:23 PM
what I would hope the "Professional trainer" would tell you, without you having to ask us is:

NO, I can't make a noticeable difference in your dog's uncontrollable behavior in two weeks.