im a newbie:::: do's and dont's

http://il.ducks.org/news-media/messageboards/Topic757099.aspx
Print Topic | Close Window

By grassmarine762 - 4/16/2011 4:46:45 PM
so whats the most common way to ruin a duck hunt and what brings birds in and what scares them away?
By swampman90 - 4/17/2011 5:33:29 PM
Not being fully hidden and too much movement would be my top two big no-no's.
By grassmarine762 - 4/17/2011 6:01:19 PM
ya that makes sense, are you allowed to shoot them in the water? dumb question but im new at this
By QuackHead 96 - 4/17/2011 7:09:28 PM
I would have to agree on the whole movement factor, but also pressure can  ruin your field or pond. Don't go watch your hole every night. The birds have to stay safe. You want to maybe watch from a distance or listen. Waterfowl hunting is all about trial and error. Also, you don't always have too call much. Oh, and by the way, OF COURSE YOU CAN SHOOT THEM ON THE WATER!!!!
By grassmarine762 - 4/17/2011 9:21:15 PM
ya i didnt know if you could only shoot flying birds, but now i know thanks guys
By myrealname - 4/18/2011 11:42:11 AM
most states in order to shoot them on the water, you have to stand up and do 6 1/2 jumping jacks before you fire your first shot.
By TooTall - 4/19/2011 2:00:40 PM
myrealname (4/18/2011)
most states in order to shoot them on the water, you have to stand up and do 6 1/2 jumping jacks before you fire your first shot.

Can we count the motion of shouldering the gun as the 1/2 or does that not count, if not then well :Whistling:
By ESutter - 4/19/2011 4:36:18 PM
TooTall (4/19/2011)
myrealname (4/18/2011)

Can we count the motion of shouldering the gun as the 1/2 or does that not count, if not then well :Whistling:

I think shouldering the gun counts as half if you spread your legs as you do it.
By Base - 4/22/2011 6:47:34 PM
grassmarine762 (4/17/2011)
ya that makes sense, are you allowed to shoot them in the water? dumb question but im new at this